Romila Thapar

Romila Thapar has been named Honorary Foreign Member of the American Historical Association. Professor Thapar becomes the first historian from the entire South Asian region to receive this honor since Jadunath Sarkar in 1952! The honor has been given by the AHA since 1886, and Sarkar and Thapar are the only historians from South Asia to be so honored. Past recipients include Fernand Braudel, Albert Hourani, and Eric Hobsbawm. I hope you will join us in congratulating Prof. Thapar!